Dashboard

Note: This feature is available to authorized users only.

Use the dashboard to access information to help you manage and serve your patient population. From the dashboard, you can apply saved filters to find results, secure messages, and orders. The dashboard provides direct access to the inboxes where you can create, save, and manage filters. Dashboard is a menu bar option for roles that are profiled with Results, Secure Messaging, or Orders Inbox authorization and can be configured as the portal landing page for those roles.  

Review the following notes:

  • The dashboard is available in portal versions 5.1.0 and later.
  • The system displays information on the dashboard based on your configured authorizations.
  • The [Orders] label is configurable in the application. Other labels such as [Requests] can be used. For simplicity, [Orders] is used throughout the Help.
  • The Manage Saved Filters function is not available from the inboxes on mobile devices.

Help Topics on This Page

- Apply Saved Filters from Dashboard
- Select or Deselect Filters to Show on Dashboard in Plain View 
- See Inbox Saved Filters on Dashboard by Your Group and Role
- Create New Filter for Inbox from Dashboard
- Understand the Inbox See All Results Filter
- Understand the Inbox Carry Forward Filter
- Manage Saved Filters

Note: The Manage Saved Filters function is not available from the inboxes on mobile devices.

Apply Saved Filters from Dashboard

Complete the following steps to apply a saved filter from the dashboard:

  1. If the dashboard is not displayed, from the menu bar, select Dashboard.
  2. If you want to see all saved filters for an inbox, select View More. If you do not see the View More option, then all saved filters are already displayed for that inbox. 
  3. Select a [saved filter]. The corresponding inbox opens with the selected filter applied.
  4. If you want to return to the dashboard, from the menu bar, select Dashboard. The system displays the dashboard.

See the following topics for related information: 

Select or Deselect Filters to Show on Dashboard in Plain View

You can select up to five saved filters for the system to display in plain view on the dashboard. The selected filters are displayed in alphabetic order. Your remaining saved filters can be viewed from the dashboard by selecting View More. If no filters are selected to be displayed on the dashboard, the system displays a functioning placeholder filter in plain view on the dashboard. This is to ensure that at least one filter per inbox is always displayed on the dashboard in plain view. See Understand the Inbox See All Results Filter for more information.

For information on how to select or deselect filters to show on the dashboard in plain view, see one of the following topics: 

See Inbox Saved Filters on Dashboard by Your Group and Role

Note: This topic applies to you only if your user account is a member of more than one group and role combination within the portal. 

The system displays results, secure messaging, and orders information on the dashboard based on your group, role, and the inboxes you are authorized to access.

Complete the following steps to see your inbox saved filters on the dashboard by your group and role:

  1. From the top of the portal page, select a different group and role combination. The system opens the landing page configured for the selected group and role combination.
  2. If the dashboard is not displayed, from the menu bar, select Dashboard. The dashboard opens and contains your saved inbox filters for the selected group and role combination.
  3. If you want to see all the saved filters for an inbox, select View More. If you do not see the View More option, then all saved filters are already displayed for that inbox. 

Also see the following topics:

Create New Filter for Inbox from Dashboard

Complete the following steps to create a new filter for an inbox from the dashboard: 

  1. If the dashboard is not displayed, from the menu bar, select Dashboard.
  2. From Results Filters, Secure Messages Filters, or Orders Filters, select New Filter. The corresponding inbox opens with the Filters section expanded and filters cleared. 
  3. Create a filter. See one of the following topics for more information:
  4. If you want the system to display your new filter on the dashboard in plain view, see one of the following topics for more information:
  5. If you want to return to the dashboard, from the menu bar, select Dashboard. The system displays the dashboard.

Understand the Inbox See All Results Filter

For each inbox, the system displays a functioning placeholder filter in plain view on the dashboard if no filters are selected for dashboard display. This is to ensure that at least one filter per inbox is always displayed on the dashboard in plain view. When you select the placeholder filter, an unfiltered view of the corresponding inbox opens. The placeholder filters have the following names:

  • Go to Results Inbox, see all results
  • Go to Secure Messaging Inbox, see all results
  • Go to Orders Inbox, see all results

The following details apply to the placeholder filter:

  • The system displays the placeholder filter on the dashboard only if no saved filters are selected to display. 
  • The placeholder filter cannot be deleted; however, it is hidden from view if at least one saved filter is selected for the system to display on the dashboard.
  • The only place you may see the placeholder filter is on the dashboard.

Understand the Inbox Carry Forward Filter

If you had a saved inbox filter in portal version 4.5.1, it was carried forward to portal version 5.1.0. For 5.1.0, the filter was saved using the following naming convention: [Component Name] - Carry Forward Filter (where [Component Name] is Results, Secure Messages, or Orders). Upon upgrade to portal version 5.1.0, the Carry Forward Filter is set as your default filter for the corresponding inbox. Also, it is displayed on the dashboard in plain view for each of your group and role memberships. You can perform actions on the Carry Forward Filter specific to each of your group and role combinations. Actions include change filter name, modify the filter, delete the filter, deselect it as the default filter, or opt for the system to not display the filter on the dashboard. Actions are performed by selecting Manage Saved Filters from the Filters section in each inbox. See the following topics for more information:

Note: The Manage Saved Filters function is not available from the inboxes on mobile devices.

Manage Saved Filters

Within each inbox, you can perform actions to manage saved filters. You can edit filter name, select a default filter, select filters for the system to display on the dashboard in plain view, and delete and sort filters. See the following topics for more information:

Note: The Manage Saved Filters function is not available from the inboxes on mobile devices.

See the following topics for additional information about filter actions you can perform, including modifying a saved filter:

Copyright Cerner Corporation. All rights reserved.